time to watch a film

I promised myself I’d watch one of the surgeon videos before I went to Cleveland. So it’s time. I’m going to watch the minimally invasive mitral valve repair by Dr. A. Marc Gillinov. Here goes.

I did it! The film was almost seven minutes long. I was a bit queasy, but I watched the incision, all the suturing and parting of materials so Gillinov could get to the mitral valve. At the start of the film, the heart is beating as the surgery continues. Then the CPB (cardio pulmonary bypass) goes into effect. For some reason, I thought CPB started even before the surgery. Amazing to see the mitral valve and the damage. I would have liked to have seen the repair.

Leave a Reply

